Winter Break Trip Day 4 By: Annalee Cocker

IMG_3568

This morning I woke up to an amazing traditional Nica breakfast of eggs, gallo pinto,and toast with marmalade. Breakfast was quick because we had an early interview in Roger Deshon with a previous microloan recipient. Today was our last day in the community and for me, my last time with the people I had grown so close to over the last 2 years. I was fortunate enough to be given an opportunity to talk to many of the entrepreneurs that I had worked with last summer and was touched to see how greatly these microloans had impacted their lives. Each person had their own unique story of how they were able to improve the lives of, not only themselves, but their family and community as well. It was a sweltering hot day under the Nicaraguan sun but the reaction of the community members made me want to be there every day. It’s very hard to believe that I may never have the chance to see these incredible people again, but I am truly excited to give new students the chance to form the relationships that I did.

Leave a Reply

